The History of the Space Shuttle in Pictures

2 Jul

I honestly cannot improve on this article.  So I’ll just link and provide silly commentary, I guess?  (It worries me that that may be an accurate description of my essay-writing in every English class I have ever taken.)

These pictures deserve to be perused:  The History of the Space Shuttle.  I’m still trying to pick one for a wallpaper for the tweetup.  (My background has previously been a series of nebulae, a sunset on Mars, the starship–as opposed to space shuttle–Enterprise, and, briefly, a neat instance of immunofluorescence, which, yes, I definitely just spelled right without checking.  But none of those seem quite right for shuttle-launch-witnessing.)  Right now, I’m thinking #58. But that’s skipping ahead significantly.

When I look at the straight-up launch pictures like #1, my mind just starts buzzing “I’m going to be there going to be there goingtobetheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeere” and I stare for a bit before snapping out of it.

As amazing as the pure space-candy ones are, I also like the ones with people in them, a la #2.  Firstly, for the–let’s be honest–fairly epic 1970s shirt of Russian Poet Yevgeny Yevtushenko.  It’s like pajamas.  I love it.  And the lamp and curtains in the background?  They look like a hotel in the Twilight Zone (never a good place to be).

#5 is a little too adorable for words.  Not that I’m biased.  Not that Star Trek is totally part of the reason I even care about space travel.  Because what on Earth (sorry) would give you that idea?

In #11, I found it striking that John Young was wearing what appears to be a normal watch, the kind you’d wear in your normal, non-astronaut life.  Maybe they wanted to check for time dilation (Note:  No, I’m not actually that abysmally ignorant when it comes to relativity.  Close, though.).

#12–ooh, those 1981 computers.  There’s an oft-quoted statement that your average modern cellphone has more computing power than the whole of NASA in 1969.

My first thought upon seeing #30 was How do they get him back?  Upon further reflection, I’m going to assume that they’ve got their act together on that account. But honestly.  How brave do you have to be to become an astronaut?  That brave.

I love #32.  It reminds me of people taking pictures of themselves and a friend with the camera held backwards.

I believe #45 is the first time we see the Hubble.  The Hubble was launched a few months after I was born.  Which makes it 21, as well, although it’s accomplished slightly more than I have in our 2.1 decades.

One Response to “The History of the Space Shuttle in Pictures”

  1. Mediocre Renaissance Man July 8, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    #58 is AWESOME! I wonder if there is a higher resolution anywhere out there… I love it.

Leave a Reply

