Speak Out With Your Geek Out, Part III: Crafty

14 Sep

What’s the world of geekery without the commitment that comes from making things by hand? You have to find just the right project — maybe it should be subtle enough that you can show it off in public, but obvious enough that your fellow geeks will get it. Or maybe it should be so outrageously nerdy that it will earn you stares from the normals. Either way, there’s something wonderful about the overlap between nerdiness and craftiness.

I also really like having something that I can work on while watching movies or television, so I don’t feel like I’m wasting time — it’s gotten to the point where I can’t simply sit and watch a show without doing something else at the same time — preferably something crafty.

I made this, and got it signed by astronauts at #NASATweetup. Actual astronauts!

I learned to knit in high school, but only got really into it when I realized all the really clever things I could make.

Like DNA.

Admittedly kind of floppy DNA.

And more DNA.

I really need to knit this pattern again, but with better yarn.

And a Dalek.

Not so threatening now.

And Amy Pond’s scarf, which took me almost the entire run of Blake’s 7 to knit.

Bonus serotonin necklace, for extra nerd-points.

Still, after all of that, I was running out of things to make for myself, and to make as Christmas gifts. Then, I discovered cross-stitching, via weelittlestitches, creator of the Doctor Who and Firefly patterns below. Needless to say, I’m set for a while.

Pixels, embroidery, Doctor Who. A weird but excellent Venn diagram.

Can't take the sky from me, indeed.

And then I started tentatively making my own patterns.

I assume it's Atlantis. Hello, old friend.

Right now, I’m in the middle of knitting Hobbes from Calvin & Hobbes (which I would argue is just as nerdy and worthy of geeky devotion as anything else I’ve written about this week). Still, I can’t help but wonder what my next project will be. For someone who has worked almost exclusively with words and abstracts all my life, it’s nice to be able to work with my hands, to make something permanent that doesn’t involve just ink on paper.

4 Responses to “Speak Out With Your Geek Out, Part III: Crafty”

  1. Yuuna (優菜) September 15, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    There are some wonderfully geeky items to be crafted!

  2. jamie October 11, 2012 at 11:04 am #

    i love this! where did you get the dr who pattern??

  3. Summer January 26, 2015 at 12:40 pm #

    Hi! Is there any way you would publish your pattern? I want to do a logo stitch so bad, but I’m crap at pattern designs. <3

Leave a Reply

