Space Tourism

4 Feb

This set of letters sent to the Hayden Planetarium in the early 1950s regarding reservations for the first interplanetary travel kills me. It may be the best thing in the universe. (Until this, that is.)

One of many letters from kids whose current age is best not calculated

This drawing is the best. Saturn even has a ring around it!

Then there are letters that reflect a serious time commitment:

Brilliant

I hope this was the inspiration for some kind of science fiction. Click the image to see more details.

I love this next one because snarky-17-year-old-me would have totally gotten along with this snarky-17-year-old-from-the-1950s. If you look through the entire slideshow, it seems that a lot of the writers are around 17. Mars: a valid alternative to college?

"P.S. I would like to get out of this world before the H-Bomb blows it sky-high."

"P.S. I would like to get out of this world before the H-Bomb blows it sky-high."

And then some small part of my brain that eschews morbid humor for just-plain-morbid yells “All of these people are probably dead and we’ve never been to Mars and you’re already 22!” Ahem.

"... and as these jaunts may not be feasible during my lifetime, I'd like to list my children as future rocket riders."

"... and as these jaunts may not be feasible during my lifetime, I'd like to list my children as future rocket riders."

BUT the real point is: whether now or in 1950, your average civilian is ready to drop everything to go to Mars. And that is unquestionably a positive thing.

"And until I am in a rocket heading for the far off space, I won't be content."

"And until I am in a rocket heading for the far off space, I won't be content."

Leave a Reply

